Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

2002 5.9 bus engine


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 DRobinson

DRobinson
  • Members
  • 861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rochester WA

Posted 02 March 2018 - 04:25 PM

So I've found a low mile 02 5.9 bus engine that I'm thinking about buying to put in my 01 truck. I know I'll have to swap accessory drive items, power steering/vacuum pump, injection pump and lines, exhaust and intake manifolds, ECM, and make sure the cam has the proper gear for the 01-02 cam sensor. May have to swap front cover and cam if it doesn't have the correct gear.

 

Is there anything else about these commercial engines that may be an issue that I'm missing?



#2 skyking

skyking
  • Administrators
  • 4,370 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 02 March 2018 - 05:23 PM

If you get to the cam, out a Colt big Stick in there. That's all I got. :)

#3 DRobinson

DRobinson
  • Members
  • 861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rochester WA

Posted 02 March 2018 - 05:29 PM

If you get to the cam, out a Colt big Stick in there. That's all I got. :)

 

I've certainly been contemplating that :lol:



#4 stroketeck

stroketeck
  • Members
  • 3,164 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 02 March 2018 - 09:04 PM

i have a 01-02 gear housing



#5 DRobinson

DRobinson
  • Members
  • 861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rochester WA

Posted 05 March 2018 - 01:54 PM

i have a 01-02 gear housing

 

I'm hoping I can use the one that is on the engine in the truck. If for some reason it doesn't work out that way I will let you know. Thanks!



#6 DRobinson

DRobinson
  • Members
  • 861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rochester WA

Posted 05 March 2018 - 01:59 PM

Oh, and I picked up the bus engine yesterday. It looks good. Guy said he had it pulled from the bus after he ran and drove it. Said it had 65k on it when pulled a couple months ago. I will have to change the cam and front cover though as it doesn't have the correct gear for the 01-02 cam sensor.



#7 Woodenhead

Woodenhead
  • Members
  • 7,530 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ephrata

Posted 05 March 2018 - 02:09 PM

Does it have a compressor in place if the vacuum pump?

#8 DRobinson

DRobinson
  • Members
  • 861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rochester WA

Posted 05 March 2018 - 02:20 PM

Does it have a compressor in place if the vacuum pump?

 

It did, I pulled it already. Know someone looking for one?



#9 Torque Monkey

Torque Monkey

    There is only one way to find out....

  • Moderators
  • 12,376 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stella, WA.
  • Interests:Just about any type of fabrication.. the crazier the better...

Posted 05 March 2018 - 03:25 PM

It did, I pulled it already. Know someone looking for one?


I know a Guy.... :lol:

#10 Woodenhead

Woodenhead
  • Members
  • 7,530 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ephrata

Posted 05 March 2018 - 03:46 PM

 
It did, I pulled it already. Know someone looking for one?


Yep, probably that monkey guy lol.

#11 DRobinson

DRobinson
  • Members
  • 861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rochester WA

Posted 05 March 2018 - 03:52 PM

I know a Guy.... :lol:

 

I'm sure we can work something out :) I'll send you a pic of it while it was still on the engine.



#12 Torque Monkey

Torque Monkey

    There is only one way to find out....

  • Moderators
  • 12,376 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stella, WA.
  • Interests:Just about any type of fabrication.. the crazier the better...

Posted 05 March 2018 - 03:53 PM

Cool! We can certainly work something out!

#13 stroketeck

stroketeck
  • Members
  • 3,164 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 March 2018 - 05:03 PM

sent ya pm drobinson



#14 Smokn Bio

Smokn Bio

    Smokn Bio

  • Members
  • 1,569 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Seattle
  • Interests:loving my wife and kid's.

Posted 15 April 2018 - 01:40 PM

When I used a 56 series block from a freight liner the oil cooler used different filter. all looked the same until the oil filter didnt fit and I found it now cost me 3x as much. and turbo was different but I didn't use it. also make sure you have a crank case vent! You should be able to find out how the pistons and compression ratios very from a pickup engine by the cpl number. 



#15 leadfoot067

leadfoot067
  • Vendors
  • 1,057 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:graham,wa
  • Interests:wheeling,going fast,camping,fishing,family

Posted 15 April 2018 - 08:55 PM

just go to quickserveonline  input the engine serial number and you should be able to find specs



#16 DRobinson

DRobinson
  • Members
  • 861 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rochester WA

Posted 16 April 2018 - 02:11 PM

I've tried quickserve a few times with this engine number and I don't get much info. I just called Cummins NW with the number, they told me it is a 16.5:1 engine. Thank you for the heads up on the oil filter housing, I will certainly look into that!






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users